Moan, moan, rain, moan

That’s it! I have had it with April showers.  Hosepipe ban, you say?  Well, I haven’t been able to get out and frivolously use the hosepipe because it hasn’t stopped raining.

Now, anyone who knows me well and particularly those who have worked with me, will know that one of my pet hates is weather chat.  And people who moan about the weather.  I used to work with several weather-whiners, people who prior to saying ‘hello’ or ‘good morning’ would humph and say “oooooh it’s raining again”.  I always felt like banging my head off the wall and shouting “WE LIVE IN BRITAIN, GET OVER IT”.  I worked for many  years for an Australian company, which I adored.  Apart from the incessant moaning of the Australians  who would bleat on about how bad the weather in the UK is.  I always wondered if they had seen the UK in a brochure and had thought “let’s go there, it’s hotter than Australia”.  Did they picture Shepherd’s Bush to be like the Australian bush, arid and dusty, the ground cracked with heat?  Were they greeted by palm trees at Heathrow? NO!!! WHY? This is the UK, the weather is rotten.

Well, I have been broken.  This rain has soaked right through to my brain and I have joined the ranks of the weather-whiner.  I always used to follow the logic that there’s no such thing as bad weather, merely the wrong clothes.  I am Scottish, we don’t let a bit of drizzle stop us.  We just wear our anoraks.

I took delivery a couple of weeks ago of a new pair of my favourite footwear, Havaianas.  Well, my poor new flip-flops are weeping in the shoe cupboard, begging to be sent back to Brazil.  I need waders, not bloody sandals.

It’s impossible to push a buggy and hold an umbrella at the same time.  I think I may have to resort to Granny-chic and wear a rain bonnet.

I must have been really spoiled since my daughter came along 14 months ago because I don’t recall another time when we sat, sad faces pressed up against the rain-obscured windows.  Even the snow didn’t keep us in.  We are trapped!  There’s only so many times that you can visit the local aquarium before the staff know you by name.  Or worse, the fish do.

Anyway, I am sorry for all the times in the past that I rolled my eyes at a colleague or banged my head off the desk in frustration at the inane chatter.  I am now a fully-fledged weather-whiner and I don’t see it stopping until the rain does.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One Comment on “Moan, moan, rain, moan”

  1. […] I’m bored.  At least I’m not really able to go out and therefore won’t get soaked, unlike the rest of the population who are clearly suffering with this beautiful July weather. […]


Go on, leave a comment below.

