Sacroiliitis. A right old pain in the ar*e.

Now, I may have the complexion of a baby’s bum thanks to this, but it seems that other bits of me are falling apart.  Childbirth has caught up with me and apparently my pelvis is shouting for help.  I have sacroiliitis.  No? Me neither, in fact I had to get the doctor to write it down, after I hobbled into the surgery yesterday.

This explains why, for the last little while, I have moved around with exclamations of ooooooohhhhhhh, aaaaahhhhhh and had many sharp intakes of breath.  The bits connecting my spine to my pelvis are inflamed and that’s why I struggle to bathe my offspring.  Or dress myself.

Strangely enough though, it hurts the least when I am running.  Not terribly practical.  I may just have to become Leigh-on-Sea’s answer to Forrest Gump.

I’m pretty tough when it comes to pain, as I learned when I had my daughter, but this sacro-wotsit nonsense is sending me potty!  I want to be able to chuck my girl around at the park, have her cling to my hip, lift her out of her cot even.

Bah humbug to all of this.  Could be far worse, I know, but I thought I’d have a self-indulgent winge anyway.  I’ll be having injections in my back soon and maybe some physio too.

In the meantime, I shall focus my efforts on getting my jeans on without weeping, consuming red wine and codeine and learning how to spell the bloody word sacroiliitis.

4 Comments on “Sacroiliitis. A right old pain in the ar*e.”

  1. Hope you get better soon! Sometimes a good amount of winging is necessary 🙂

    • Heather says:

      I feel your pain. I have been having flairs in my hip joints for 10 years now since I had my first child. They seem to be worse in the fall and when I am really stressed. I am surfing to see if there is some new great cure but have had no luck. I am thinking about trying an anti-inflammatory diet. I just ordered every “cure” book I could find from the library. I have read them before but maybe I will learn new in site this time through.

      • After having been diagnosed with sacroiliitis, it was discovered that actually I had a herniated disc. 7 months later, I’ve just had an operation on my spine. So, I never actually had sacroiliitis after all!
        I wish you all the best with finding a way forward with it. Thanks for reading 🙂

  2. […]  I’ve been feeling really sorry for myself.  You may remember a while back I wrote about my back problem, sacroiliitis, as I was suffering a lot of pain and discomfort.  Well, it’s all gone a bit […]


Go on, leave a comment below.

